Facebook Scam infects Millions

The latest attempt by hackers to infect your computer, exploits the curiosity many people have regarding their Facebook friends. The malware scam, which is thought to have infected over 2 million Facebook Users so far, works as follows: When a user logs onto Facebook, they are presented with an ad post featuring a photograph of one of their friends along with “See (Friends Name)’s Naked Video” or “(Friends Name)’s Private Video”.

When the link is clicked on, users are sent to a fake but realistic version of YouTube which attempts to install a virus on their computer. If anti-virus software catches the Trojan, they are sent to a fake page claiming that an Adobe Flash Player update needs to run before allowing access to the video. This is the point where many Facebook users get trapped. Even if the original attempt was caught by the anti-virus software, as soon as the user clicks on the fake Adobe Flash Player update link, they become infected with the virus.

The malware, which has been named “Trojan.FakeFlash.A”, enters as a browser extension which accesses the infected users own Facebook photos and creates an advertisement which is then sent to their own friends and the cycle continues.

Fake software updates, fake browser plugins and fake Adobe Flash Player updates have been a common method used by hackers for a long time. The rise of social media and the curiosity surrounding Facebook friends has given hackers a new way to install malware on unsuspecting computer users.

How Do I Keep My Account Secure?

If you’re a Facebook user for personal or business purpose, there are some things you can do to make sure your account is kept secure.

Think Before Clicking

Never click suspicious links, even if they claim to come from a person or company you know. This includes all links sent through Facebook and those sent through email. If one of your Facebook friends clicks on a spam link, it’s likely that you will receive that same link and it will seem as if one of your Facebook friends had sent it you. Be sure not to download any files, especially .exe files.

Choose a Strong Password

Make sure you pick a unique and strong password for your Facebook account. Don’t use a single word that can be found in the dictionary like “apple” as your password. Use a mix of letters and numbers and try to change your password as often as possible.

Never Give Your Login Details

Some malware scams work by offering you something free, for example free gambling credits or iPhone’s, in exchange for your Facebook login details. If you’re ever asked to re-enter your password, make sure the website address begins with www.facebook.com/

Have Up-To-Date Software

Make sure you are always running the latest version of your web browser software and have up-to-date anti-virus software. Updated software will know about the latest hacking methods and will usually warn you if you are about to enter a phishing website.

Be Sure You Are Really Using Facebook.com

Many hackers will set up a fake, realistic looking Facebook page. Make sure your browser is always pointed to facebook.com before entering your login details. If in doubt, you can always type facebook.com again yourself to make sure you’re on the correct website.